PwC’s second annual Business Book of the Year in Russia Award kicks off today

Moscow, 11 January 2017. Applications to compete in the second annual Business Book of the Year in Russia Award, established by PwC in 2016, will be accepted starting from today on the Crowdspace platform. As in last year’s contest, interested readers will have more than two months to take part in online voting, based on which short lists of award nominees will be compiled. Five nominees will be selected in each of the two nomination categories: Best Book by a Russian Author and Best Book by a Foreign Author Published in Russia. After this, the short lists will be submitted to the jury, which will then select the winners.

PwC Russia Managing Partner Igor Lotakov says: “This is PwC’s second annual Business Book of the Year in Russia Award contest and we’re very pleased that this unique event has put down solid roots. Last year, about 2,500 people participated in the online selection of the best new business literature published in Russian and about 100 articles and reports on the award were published and broadcast by media outlets, both national and regional.

“The esteemed members of the jury, who jointly selected the winning titles based on readers’ voting, showed a great deal of dedication in carrying out this vital task. We were particularly pleased to see that those books that won our award were showcased at the 18th International Book Fair for Non-Fiction Intellectual Literature, at which our award contest received prominent mention.

“I’m sure that the competition will be just as tough in this year’s contest, which kicks off today on What’s more, I’m confident that all participants have something to gain, including the authors whose books will be nominated, the growing number of readers who prefer high-quality books on business topics, and, of course, the Russian business community, which has a critical stake in gaining the new types of knowledge that are key to success.”

This year, the composition of the jury has been changed somewhat, with the main change being a greater number of women among jury members. Just like last year, well-known businessman and philanthropist Ruben Vardanyan will serve as jury chairman.

In addition to Mr Vardanyan, the jury will include:

  • Grigoriy Beglaryan, Economics Commentator at Russia-24 TV;
  • Alexey Bobrovskiy, Director of Economics Programming at Russia-24 TV;
  • Oleg Bogdanov, Director of Economics at Kommersant FM radio;
  • Andrey Bystritskiy, Chairman of the Board, Fund for Development and Support for the Valdai International Discussion Club;
  • Vladimir Gerasimov, Executive Director, Interfax Group;
  • Kirill Dmitriev, General Director, Russian Direct Investment Fund Management Company;
  • Evelina Zakamskaya, Presenter at Russia-24 TV;
  • Larisa Zelkova, Vice President, GMK Norilsk Nickel;
  • Valeriy Katkalo, Dean of Sberbank Corporate University;
  • Andrey Klepach, board member and Deputy Chairman (Chief Economist) of Vnesheconombank (State Corporation Bank for Development and Foreign Economic Affairs);
  • Anton Kobyakov, Advisor to the President of the Russian Federation;
  • Mikhail Leontiev, Vice President, ОАО NK Rosneft;
  • Igor Lotakov, Country Managing Partner, PwC Russia;
  • Nail Maganov, General Director, PAO Tatneft;
  • Leila Mammedzade, Executive Director, Summa Group;
  • Alexei Moiseev, Deputy Minister, Russian Ministry of Finance;
  • Alexander Nekipelov, member of the Russian Academy of Sciences;
  • Olga Paskina, General Director, ZAO National Media Group;
  • Ksenia Ryasova, President, Finn Flare;
  • Ekaterina Trofimova, board member and CEO, Analytical Credit Rating Agency;
  • Sergey Filonovich, Dean, Higher School of Management, National Research University Higher School of Economics;
  • Irina Khakamada, politician and public figure;           
  • Andrei Sharonov, Dean, Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO;
  • Evgeniya Shokhina, President, Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs (RSPP) School of Business;
  • Ksenia Yudaeva, First Deputy Chairwoman, Central Bank of the Russian Federation;
  • Sergey Yakovlev, Editor-in-Chief, Kommersant business daily.

The Business Book of the Year in Russia Award is the only specialised award of its kind in the area of business literature. Nominees for the award may include books published in Russian during the year preceding the award year as well as copyrighted translations of foreign books published abroad within two years before their publication in Russia in Russian language editions.

The contest was held for the first time in 2016. In the Best Book by a Russian Author nomination category, the award went to Biznes kak igra (Business as a Game) by Sergey Abdulmanov, Dmitry Borisov and Dmitry Kibalo. In the Best Book by a Foreign Author Published in Russia nomination category, the winner was Elon Musk: Tesla, Spacex i doroga v buduschee, the Russian translation of Ashlee Vance’s best-selling 2015 biography Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future.

The Award winners will be announced in June 2017 at the St Petersburg International Economic Forum (SPIEF). PwC Russia will present the winning authors with commemorative awards and cash prizes.

PwC Russia

PwC Russia ( provides industry-focused assurance, advisory, tax and legal services. Over 2,500 people work in our offices in Moscow, St Petersburg, Ekaterinburg, Kazan, Novosibirsk, Rostov-on-Don, Krasnodar, Voronezh, Vladikavkaz and Ufa. We share our thinking, experience and solutions to develop fresh perspectives and practical advice for our clients.

“PwC” refers to the PwC network and/or one or more of its member firms, each of which is a separate legal entity. Together, these firms form the PwC network, which includes over 223,000 employees in 157 countries. For more details, please visit our website at

©2017 PricewaterhouseCoopers. All rights reserved.

Contact us

Anna Smischenko-Mironova
PR Manager
Tel: +7 (495) 967-6172

Marieta Khamhoeva
Public Relations
Tel: +7 (495) 967 6000 ext. 2405

Follow us